SCAMPI Appraisal Classes

The SCAMPI family of appraisals includes Class A, B, and C appraisal methods.

SCAMPI A is the most rigorous method and the only method that can result in a rating.

SCAMPI B provides options in model scope, but the characterization of practices is fixed to one scale and is performed on implemented practices.

SCAMPI C provides a wide range of options, including characterization of planned approaches to process implementation according to a scale defined by the user.

Using SCAMPI B, every practice in the appraisal scope is characterized on a three point scale indicating the risk of CMMI goal satisfaction if the observed practices were deployed across the organizational unit. Model scope is not limited to the Process Areas but could include sets of related practices.

SCAMPI C can be scoped at any level of granularity and the scale can be tailored to the appraisal objectives, which might include the fidelity of observed practices to model/goal achievement or the return on investment to the organization from implementing practices.

Reliability, rigor, and cost might go down from A to B to C, but risk might go up.

Characteristics of Appraisal Classes

Characteristic Class A Class B Class C
Amount of objective evidence High Medium Low
Ratings generated Yes No No
Resource needs High Medium Low
Team size Large Medium Small

Note: Some of the contents of these pages have been taken from SEI web-site at the following link: